Music – All at Once

The first time I heard this song, I was mowing the lawn in the heat of summer last year. I had my headphones on listening to Pandora while thinking about the affair and what had happened.

The first verse starts quiet, talking about being born innocent into this world. Then it heats up with a bridge into the second verse.

And then we longed to be loved
In the rush, we become
Some things we thought we’d never be
We were surprised by how hard
Left wary and scarred
From the nights spent feeling incomplete
And all those evenings swearing at the sky
Wishing for more time
All the promises we broke when we tried
Just wastin’ all our time

Just reading that now makes me tear up a bit. The first time I heard it, I had tears streaming down my face, mixing with the sweat from working in the yard. Back and forth, I mowed the lawn, my jaw clenched hard to prevent my sobs from escaping as I listened to the lyrics.

I’ve spent so many nights feeling incomplete, swearing at the sky, wondering why can’t I just be happy? And of course, I’ve broken so many promises, so many vows, in foolish attempts to find happiness and comfort in this world.

We grow old all at once
And it comes like a punch
In the gut, in the back, in the face
When it seems someone’s lied
And our parents have died
Then we hold onto each other in their place
And I feel the water risin’ around us
Maybe that’s okay
Yeah, I feel the world changin’ all at once
I guess it’ll be okay

My wife and I grew old that night, that week, and the nights and weeks that followed D-day. Maybe that’s okay. I guess it’ll be okay.

About Anonyman

Recovering adulterer and husband of an awesome wife who has given me a second chance. Sinner and Christian, saved by grace alone. I cuss a lot
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music – All at Once

  1. Yeah I feel the aging process too. If it is true what they say about stress and frowing this has taken years off of my life and M’s.

    Like

  2. ismeisreallyme says:

    music has a unique way of touching people and or speaking for them. it never fails to amaze me how a certain song or even a scent can send memories rushing through or leave me rooted in a spot. thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

