About Pages

I have a complaint. I’ve noticed that a lot of blogs have problems with their about pages. Quite a few have no about page. Even more have the default “this is what an about page is, blah blah blah” page.

Maybe it’s just me, but when someone comments on my blog or when they follow me, I go check out their blog. Pretty much the first thing I click on is the about page. If there’s a problem with it, I’m probably not going to dig deeper.

It’s not that I don’t want to read you posts, it’s just that I’d like to know what the blog is about, who’s writing it, what their back story is. It helps put your posts into context. If you haven’t put up a proper about page, it makes the little OCD guy in my brain twitch at the thought of dozens of poorly written, poorly organized posts to follow.

As I see it, there are two options: Delete the default about page or update it to make it relevant. If you’re going aboutless, then I humbly suggest you make it easy for the casual passersby to find some relevant posts about who you are and what you’re talking about.

Since, as the saying goes, when you point the finger, you have committed assault with an imaginary gun. No wait, no one says that. When you point the finger, you have three pointed back at yourself. Yes, that’s the one. Since that second thing is true, I will be also be updating my about page to make it more relevant since it is hopelessly whiny and out of date. Mostly the first one.

About Anonyman

Recovering adulterer and husband of an awesome wife who has given me a second chance. Sinner and Christian, saved by grace alone. I cuss a lot
This entry was posted in Editorial Note and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to About Pages

  1. I just started blogging never thought about doing anything on that page but I will now:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonyman says:

    Yay! Imma write in my journal “I made a difference today!”

    By the way, I really like the theme you use on your blog. Very classy

    Like

  3. Okay since the OCD is calling people out. I would like to know feedback on my about page. Thank you 🙂

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      It’s good – very well written and neither too brief nor too long. It gives a good background for your blog.

      I have two points and they are not critiques of style. First, no one is a typical jilted wife. Everyone’s pain is unique and the way they handle it is unique. Don’t put yourself down by self-stereotyping. Second, I know you struggle with feeling crazy sometimes, but what you wrote in your about page is beautiful. It’s selfless and gracious. It’s loving even in the face of almost unimaginable betrayal and pain. Whenever you start feeling like throwing things, go back and read your about page and remember who you are and whose you are.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. FNU MNU LNU says:

    In addition to putting a teaser on my about page, my first post is titled tl;dr and has a quick overview.

    Like

Leave a Reply

