Other Blogs

I wonder sometimes if I should be reading other people’s blogs. They’re a mixed blessing to be sure. When I see people recovering, it gives me hope and makes me happy. But then I read of people’s marriages falling apart, and it makes me sad (or worse). I read stories of seduction and betrayal and it’s definitely a trigger for me. It reminds me of the shame of what I’ve done.

It also reminds me of how it felt to have an affair – the rush, the excitement, the happiness, the love, the lust, the betrayal, the conflicting emotions, the anguish, the loss, and eventual pain. Even now, there’s a small part of me that misses those good feelings, misses her. Thankfully, it sleeps almost all the time now, but every once in a while, such as when I read other blogs, it awakes. It’s an odd mixture of longing, lust, shame, pain, regret, and a bunch of others.

I don’t like it. My life is simpler and better when I don’t have all those conflicting emotions. My wife and I are doing just fine without my getting depressed because I read someone’s blog. So I wonder: should I just stick to my little corner of the blogosphere?

I ask myself that at least several times a week. I do occasionally say “I can’t take it anymore,” but ultimately I come back. I’m getting better at sensing when I’m headed down the rabbit hole, and I stop and walk away for a bit. There may come a time when I have to walk away for good, but I’m not there yet. Just don’t be surprised if I disappear for a few days now and again.

About Anonyman

Recovering adulterer and husband of an awesome wife who has given me a second chance. Sinner and Christian, saved by grace alone. I cuss a lot
This entry was posted in Editorial Note, The affair and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Other Blogs

  1. In the two years I have been reading blogs, I have eliminated quite a few. Now I stick to blogs that are in line with my goals. My husband and I are committed to rebuilding our marriage. I want to rebuild the deep love and trust we shared prior to his affair. I find it counter-productive (for me) to read blogs that are headed in a different direction entirely.

    My husband ended the affair without being caught. They continued to work together after this and she finally left when she realized he was serious about his marriage and regretted the affair. In a fit of rage she hired an attorney and tried to sue him, as well as accuse us of any number of outrageous things. It was so over the top her own attorney dropped her and cautioned ours that we should stay well out of her way. From there she launched cyber attacks on me and my older two kids. We had to put her name on a list because of contact she had with their school. Over two years later, she hasn’t stopped. In a weird way, she has done me a favor. She has caused him to hate her in a way nothing else could have done. She has far and away erased any latent good feelings he ever had for her.

    My therapist uses the term rabbit hole as well. There is power in being able (finally!) to recognize when you are headed down the wrong path. My poor husband struggles enough with shame, guilt regret, etc and doesn’t need to come home at the end of the day to find me mad at him because of someone else’s mistakes.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anonyman says:

      Wow, she sounds like a real psycho.

      I too am careful about which blogs I follow. I don’t read blogs where people celebrate cheating or think it’s a good thing. I also don’t follow blogs where there is no place for forgiveness. Still, the ones in between can be difficult some days.

      I don’t know if I’d be happy or sad if I found out Scarlet was a player or if she turned into a bunny-boiler. I think my wife and I are doing just fine without her in our life – there’s no need for her to come back into our life and reopen old wounds or create new ones.

      Anyway, thanks for reading and commenting. I hope you guys continue to do well.

      Like

      • Thanks Isle. It’s been a struggle to deal with continuous attacks. It disrupts healing, as I think to truly be able to heal and move forward, you need peace. Living at least partly in a defensive crouch waiting for a future attack is very unfair. I am not happy that she does this, but I am happy that she revealed her true character to him.

        Like

  2. Janelle says:

    In my real life I’m struggling to be a friend to a BS, and I started reading blogs in search of understanding so I could stay balanced and be a better, more supportive friend. That said, I have had to pace myself on reading the vast majority, because the pain and hurt and scorching anger impacts me and MY stable marriage and does not really help me cope with my friend and her volitile emotional state. They separated and he has filed for divorce, but she is fighting it with every imaginable legal manuever. She is not getting over the betrayal, and it has become so bad that DH and I have to limit our interactions and listening to her as well. According to her, nothing I have endured in my life (childhood sexual abuse, physical battery at the end of my first marriage, loss of a child) comes even close to what she is feeling/enduring right now at the hands of her husband. She admits freely she wants him to return to punish him for his past behavior, because he should pay in blood for what he has done to her. It is not a good or healthy situation. I do not have a timetable for getting over it, yet I do believe she has tp accept the reality that he is not coming back no matter how much she kicks and screams.

    Your blog is peaceful in comparison. I know there are issues, I know you talk about your mistakes and the rebuilding in your marriage. You speak kindly and highly and realistically of your wife – something I greatly admire – and my hope is that someday my dear friend will find some peace or at least a bridge to get past the anger and the hate and a more peaceful, long-term solution.

    Like

    • Nephila says:

      Janelle, you do not sound like her friend. Not a word of your post condemns *his* actions, only hers! You seem to want her to just be normal again to make your life easier and maybe his life easier (why shouldn’t she use every legal manoeuvre, he is!). And what makes you say Isle, who still pines for Scarlet, is being realistic about his wife? He makes her sound like she’s in denial. I suspect there’s a lot more to your story and your “friend”.

      Like

      • Anonyman says:

        I’m allowing your comment here as an illustration to the others. I hope you do not mind, Janelle.

        Janelle’s friend needs professional help, not a friend to condone her destructive behavior. As for my wife, she is not in denial nor is anyone else who doesn’t hold to your ridiculous standards of so-called repentance. In case you haven’t noticed, your comments are going back into the trash can. If you want to further prove to everyone how unhinged you are, then by all means continue sending comments into my trash can. Otherwise, find someone other dark corner of the blogosphere in which to build your web of bitterness and angry accusations.

        Liked by 3 people

        • Janelle says:

          Nope, I don’t mind a bit. Sorry she continues to troll through your blog trying to spread more hate and discontent.

          Like

          • Anonyman says:

            Most of the time I don’t mind – I just send to trash without reading. Her comment to you was just so nasty, I felt it needed to see the light of day.

            I was talking with IHAA the other day, telling him that I felt called by God to show her some grace. So I allowed her comments on a single post and did my best to show her Christ for a time, but I was confirmed in my previous stance of deleting her comments. I hope she repents, but I will not engage or allow her to spew disgust or hatred on my blog, especially towards other people trying to recover from an affair.

            Liked by 1 person

      • Janelle says:

        Actually, since I was commenting on a post presented by Isle of Man, I chose to keep my focus on point about where I am with regard to topic and how it affects me in my own life. This is not the post or the place to offer a referendum on bad behavior, including yours.

        Like

    • Anonyman says:

      This is a case where her husband could be completely repentant but is probably wise not to stay. No one, not even a cheater, deserves spousal abuse – emotional or physical.

      Still, affairs can and do break people on both sides. I hope your friend is able to get some counseling and recover on her own. It’s a sign of how messed up she is, how wrapped up in her own pain that the feels the need to compare her pain to other’s. It’s sad, but it sounds like you are indeed protecting yourself and your marriage by pulling back.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Moxie says:

    Very true. Some BS blogs I sense they are still in the midst of their anger, possibly stuck there. Which I find sad because, my story ended in divorce. My ex chose the OW. I was not given a choice. From my perspective, I would have loved for my husband to put in any effort in to saving the marriage. I understand it must be hard….but I am the other option….divorced.
    Then the OW/M blogs…oh my…there are very few I still read. Those that show no remorse or make it completely sexual, I won over the spouse story, I no longer read.
    I have enjoyed reading your blog. I may have even shared with my ex-husband. Sadly, I think he is slowly coming out of his affair fog and realizing what he has done. Pray for him. He is a lost soul.

    Keep up the good work. I pray you and your wife are fully restored.

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      Yeah, I can have a certain level of understand or even respect for the OW/M where it’s not all sexual, but there was love, too. Even when the OW/M knows what they are doing is wrong, but they struggle with repentance – that’s real. I know what that struggle feels like. But total lack of repentance – nope, not healthy to read.

      I’m sorry for you and for your ex-husband. I am so thankful for my wife’s patient forgiveness these last 18 months. If I had done something truly stupid and then realized what I had missed out on? I don’t know how I could stand it. I hope you are able to fully heal and move on with your life. I will pray for you and for your ex-husband.

      Like

  4. Phosphenes says:

    Hey

    I’ve read quite a bit of your blog, but j can’t seem to recall you mentioning whether you had kids or not? I could be wrong.

    Also, I was wondering from a religious perspective. You speak a lot about grace, forgiveness, acceptance etc., but I wanted to know what Christianity says about infidility exclusively. What are the steps one should take to prevent it, what steps should one take if it has already occurred?

    Every religion promotes those good characteristics, but they differ on what “punishment” the adulteres should receive. I’ve tried googling but I’ve found the result dissatisfying.

    My final question is, who knows about your affair? What were their reactions and has your daily interactions with other people been strained because of your choices?

    You’re not obliged in any way to answer my questions but if you do, I thank you in advance 😊

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      Yes, I have kids. I’m sure I’ve addressed it in the comments at some point, but it would probably take some digging.

      The Bible says infidelity is a sin. It’s number 6, I believe, of the 10 commandments. The best Biblical advice I can think of for preventing infidelity comes from what Jesus said to the religious figures of his day. “If a man lusts after a woman, he has committed adultery in his heart.” So the advice from that is, don’t lust after someone who isn’t your spouse. Additionally, the Bible says to flee temptation, so if you find yourself being tempted by someone, then you should avoid contact as much as possible.
      If infidelity has already occurred, then the person who has sinned needs to stop sinning, repent, and confess the sin to God. I suggest you read my post of Repentance for more info, but basically it means to regret, have remorse, and to turn away from the sin. The first book of John says “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” There’s a lot more about reconciliation and forgiveness, but at least as a first step, you should repent and confess it to God.

      As a Christian, I believe the punishment for our sin has already been borne by our savior, Jesus Christ, who sacrificed himself to pay the penalty of our sins. This sacrifice, and not any penance we do, is what removes the barrier between us and God. Jesus twice spoke to adulteresses and neither time did he condemn them, but told them to repent and stop sinning.

      Not many people know. My wife, my parents, my church leadership, our therapists, and my boss are the only ones who know for sure. I’d say about 20 people total. My interactions have been strained, but not because people know. Everyone has been very gracious to me since I immediately ended the affair and sought forgiveness. The strain has been because my preexisting depression got very bad and I had a hard time functioning.

      I’m a bit pressed for time, but I can reply back later with links to some of my older posts on forgiveness, grace, repentance, and reconciliation if you’d like more information. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

  5. Phosphenes says:

    Hello again

    The topics regarding forgiveness are very daunting . I have been taught that before one can be forgiven one needs to be 100% sincere and I think that’s one condition many of us seem unable to fulfill. It’s not easy to hate something you derived so much pleasure out of.

    Thank you for your responses.
    Many a time I have heard Christians say that Jesus sacrificed himself for their sins, may I ask how you hold that belief?

    I am a person that does believe in penance. What about rape, murder, thieving? Should the sinner merely repent and the victim forgive and then all will be fine?

    I would like to know what the other commentators think about compensation?
    I recently read an article about a man who sued his wife’s affair partner and received 7000 dollars.

    I don’t think compensation is a bad thing, it could be seen as incentive to forgive? A token of remorse and true guilt maybe?

    Like

  6. Phosphenes says:

    I think faith is the most important thing, how strong your faith is will ultimately decide how well you cope with life’s tests. It is your weapon that hopefully, you will never lose.

    Like

  7. Phosphenes, I just had this exact conversation with my husband asking him, “How can I truly come before God and ask for His forgiveness when I WANTED to do this? I chose to have an affair…”

    And he said, “Forgiveness is about your state of mind/heart NOW. Not your state of mind/heart back when you were sinning.”

    I would wager Isle can give a more in-depth response though. Great questions btw.

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      A wise theologian said that we always do what we want most an any given moment. That means anytime we sin, at that moment we want the sin more than we want to obey God or honor our spouse. So by definition, you always want to do the sins you commit and the affair is no different. It may be a more willful rebellion against God, but that just means you need to confess and ask forgiveness for your rebellion as well as the resulting sin. Your husband is right – forgiveness is about your repentance NOW for what you where thinking and doing THEN.

      This is why God’s grace and forgiveness are so amazing. Because they are motivated by God’s unconditional love, it doesn’t matter how rebellious we are or how nasty our sin was, God’s grace is still greater.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Phosphenes says:

    TwoCheatingHearts.

    I wholeheartedly agree with your husband. The doors of Gods mercy are always open to those who turn to Him in repentance. One of Gods divine qualities is that He is Most-Forgiving, so long as you ask His forgiveness, He will forgive your sins and accept your repentance.

    In my religion there are two types of sins. Sins that are between God and the servant and sins that are between a servant and a servant.

    So when you desire to repent from a sin that is between yourself and God, there are three conditions that need to be met.
    • You have to stop the sin immediately.
    • Promise to never return to it.
    • And lastly, you have to continuously regret over that sin.

    HOWEVER

    When the sin is between people, there is a fourth condition..
    • You have to seek the forgiveness of the person that you have wronged.
    Only then will your repentance be accepted.

    It is according to our Scolars, that what will then happen is..
    Either the person you wronged forgives you, God accepts your repentance and then He himself recompenses the wronged slave..or
    That person does not forgive you and on the Day of Judgement you offer into their account some of your good deeds. If you do not have enough good deeds, you will be handed some of their sins until God seems just.

    To me, it then seems unfair that the betrayed has to accept, forgive etc.. Without being given any sort of recompense. Your regret, your sadness, all of those things are for yourself, to a large degree for yourself and not for your spouse. Your feelings are valid, but your feelings do not take the place of justice.

    Like

    • I don’t know what religion you are following, but there is only way way to salvation. And that is through Jesus Christ. He paid the ultimate price for ALL of our sins when he died on the cross for us. Quite simply, good deeds will not get you into heaven. Only by accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and savior.

      Like

  9. Phosphenes says:

    sorry, I meant to write until God deems just.

    Like

  10. chely5150 says:

    Not being a religious person myself, I cannot respond to what is required by God for forgiveness to take place. What I do know is that I had to offer forgiveness to him for his “sins”, as well as forgive myself to get me into a little bit better space. I was going to lose my mind if I did not. I have forgiven but I do not trust (totally) at all. Trust has to be earned back by actions, not words. He has done only a small amount towards that goal. He has little outward remorse, regret, guilt etc. Some days it is very difficult to believe this is really what he wants, especially when I read about the feelings, thoughts and emotions of those that have cheated (blogs). As much as it still hurts, it is the only way for me to get a glimpse inside his mind. Yeah we are together still, never seperated, but the prognosis is still unclear. I do wonder if “she” is still in our lives. Why he didn’t actually leave on D-day. I still wonder why?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Phosphenes says:

    Chely5150

    I suppose requirements for forgiveness varies between religions. It is interesting though to see what the three largest religions ( Judaism, Christianity and Islam) have in common. Moses came from Egypt/Palestine , Jesus from Palestine and Muhammad from Arabia. They were all variations of Arab. Muslims and Christians believe in Virgin Mary, believe in a second coming of Christ. Similar punishments for crimes are found within these religions. Stoning of the adulterer and adulteress for example, both found in islam and Judaism. It’s worth studying.

    As for the rest of your statement, I think I agree with Isle, or perhaps it was someone else who said it. When you stay with the adulterer/adulteress, you accept an unfair situation. In the case of Nephila, the marriage sustains itself on him doing all the work, which makes sense seeing as though he’s the one that broke it. But perhaps in your case, the marriage sustains itself on all your hard work and him merely being present. I don’t think you will ever be satisfied, not with his degree of effort, remorse, regret. You don’t have to be, but for the sake of your marriage maybe you’ll have to fake it from time to time.

    As for “her”? What about her? She ruined herself. He ruined himself.
    Gods doors are always open for the true repenters. God may elevate them or he may continue to disgrace them. God does what he wills, when he wills.

    I know you said you’re not a religious person, but only God can help us protect ourselves against these heinous acts. Make an effort to atleast pray to God to prevent that you are ever the cause for another persons sadness. Start now. It is our human nature to forget God in times of good and only call on Him when times get rough. Don’t be proud by saying ” I can”, “I won’t be like “her””, “I have a wider moral compass”. Those are the exact same things many of these men and women said, look at them now.

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      Actually, Muhammad is the only Arab of the three. Moses and Jesus are both Jews. As I understand it, Arabs are actually defined not by their ethnicity but by their culture, of which their religion, Islam, and their language, Arabic, are the biggest components.

      In any case, the big three monotheistic religions are indeed similar in their moral laws. As a Christian, I would say the big difference between Christianity and the other two is not in morality but in salvation. Judaism and Islam both say you are saved by your good works outweighing your sins. Christianity says you are incapable of being saved by your own good works because even one sin condemns you. That is why God sent His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ, to pay our debts through a sinless life and sacrificial death. If we believe in Him and trust Him for our salvation, then our sins are forgiven and we are credited with the righteousness of God.

      I completely agree with your last paragraph. When you say to yourself that you have become so good that you couldn’t fall and don’t need God’s protection, that is the exact moment when you need Him the most.

      Like

    • chely5150 says:

      Thank-you very much for your thoughts and words Phosphenes. I appreciate all that you said. Yes sometimes I don’t pray often enough so it feels hypocritical to do it when I’m in a bad spot only, but I do a little. I know I should more often. I think you may be right about his level of remorse etc. never being enough for me. What I’m trying to learn to do is realize his pentenence may not look like what I want to see. But that doesn’t always mean that he isn’t doing/feeling it. Only that he can only show it the way he knows how. I’m a bit confused about your comment on the fact that I could become like her. I realize never say never but I don’t think I’ve everb indicated in a post (maybe you haven’t visited yet) that I would ever be tempted. My life from my family of origin to my first husband and the one in between, has been plaugued with infidellity. I COULD NOT, WOULD NOT GO THERE EVER! I feel fairly certain saying this because all those years husband and I were distant it would have been very easy to do so. But for me why would I jump from the frying pan into the fire? No thanks not for me – (I sowed alot of oats in my younger years (grew up in the 60’s) and had plenty of adventure and variety. I was very happy in the monogamy thing.) I guess this is the million dollar question- why do they do it? But I do understand that there is temptation and some cannot walk away from it. I don’t condemn those that can’t. (Most of them anyway) I actually very much known that there is pain and suffering for them too. It is very different from the suffering of a betrayed but it is pain none the less. Truthfully I thought that because I was not condemning my husband, was trying to understand why he ended up doing such a thing, that he would be more forth coming and honest with me. But that kinda backfired on me. Okay enough chely- again thank-you for sharing.

      Like

  12. donavon says:

    It’s very seldom that I read other people’s blog’s.. Its either poems, quotes or some other kind of gibberish that doesn’t enthuse my passion for reading… Therefore, I search for topics that are different from mine and I stumbled across your page a while back. My style of writing is very different, yet we share the same issue that most have dealt with in the past. I have been married for over 10 years, to a great woman, in which we have 2 sons… Have I ever been victim of infidelity? Sure, I assume that we all have been on both sides of the fence at some point in our lives… We all can recite biblical scriptures about infidelity but until you truthfully understand the ramifications of your actions, you have no idea…

    You see, temptations are all around us on a daily basis.. Yea men are wired differently than women, well the majority of women… I was that guy in church that had to pray to the Lord before we all stood up to greet our Pastor each Sunday morning… My prayer was short and simple.. “Oooh Please Lord don’t let this woman in front of me have a phat azz – oh my goodness – she does and her azz just ate all dat sun dress she got on, WHEW!” I really didn’t have a comment on your topic, I just wanted to share my testimony on how my lustful ways almost destroyed me from my family… Let the Church say Amen!

    Like

  13. Phosphenes says:

    Anonyman

    Thank you for the link. I will have to read up further, I wasn’t aware it was more of a cultural issue(?).

    To my understand, Muslims also believe their salvation to be at the hands of Gods mercy. As seen here …

    The Prophet (pbuh) said: “No one of you will enter Paradise by his deeds alone.” They asked, “Not even you, O Messenger of Allah?” He said, “Not even me, unless Allah covers me with His Grace and Mercy” (Bukhari, Muslim)

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      The difference here is “by his deeds alone”. Many religions believe that you only get the grace of God if you do a sufficient amount of good deeds first. Biblical Christianity is alone is saying you can’t earn God’s grace through good works. His grace is a free gift because Jesus already paid the price in blood for our grace, and we do not have to work because He already did all the work by keeping the law perfectly. It is then for us to accept Christ and believe in Him alone for our salvation.

      Like

  14. Phosphenes says:

    “That is why God sent His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ, to pay our debts through a sinless life and sacrificial death. ”

    Sorry, but I previously wondered the basis of this belief?
    Thank you

    Like

  15. Phosphenes says:

    Hi

    Sorry, I realize this may not be the best place to have religious discussions the way we have been having them, the topics are after all very complex. People of every religion have devoted their entire lives to understanding their respective texts. I have erred by assuming Moses and Jesus were Arab based on their origin, and you held the view that Muslims would be saved by their good deeds outweighing their bad.

    I think one mistake should be enough to turn us on our heels. ☺️
    Thank you though.

    Like

  16. Phosphenes says:

    chely5150

    You’re either an adulteress or not, right?
    So long as you’re not an adulteress you will be fighting tooth and nail to keep your hands clean, that’s my understanding.

    I believe in good and evil, I believe in satan and his helpers, in his inciting towards evil. Satan “suggests” the evil, isn’t it that we carry it out? Adulterers and adulteresses have already fallen prey to their desires, satan already misled them, there’s no need for him to continue pestering them. So, to my understanding, satan is moving on to those with “clean hands”.

    To me, it’s not about “talking the talk”, ” I”ll never do that to someone else” etc etc. Talk is cheap, t’s about walking the walk. And walking the walk till the day you die.

    It’s about discipline. Disciplining our own desires. Sometimes to the extent that we will have to NOT look at men, talk to them, make jokes with them, compliment them. If need be, are we willing to go to this extent? (I say “men” because you never really know if he’s married or not). I know I’m going to extremes here but plan for the worse, right?

    You can become a thief, an adulterer, a murderer, but once you brand those titles on yourself, nothing can shake them off. You’ve lost your credibility. Repentance? Good, great even. But that’s between you and God. Mankinds success lies in their morality and generation to generation it is always youth who bear the burden of change. Now, what youth would ever take their moral code from an adulterer/adulteress? They may treat you kindly but that’s no indication of how good you are, it’s an indication of how good THEY are.

    Anyway, let’s hope we can walk our walk exceptionally well, the best even.
    I hope I didn’t offend you the first time, and I hope I haven’t left room for misunderstanding.😉

    I know you said you weren’t really religious but for me, I kinda need to be. We’re only here on earth to earn our Heaven. (My opinion, different religions, I get it) 😔

    Like

    • chely5150 says:

      No, no you didn’t offend me at all. I am a firm believer of learning about parts of life i’m not as familiar with. And an opinion that may be different than mine is always welcomed as I think it makes one push the envelope of their conventional thinking. I wasn’t attempting to sound holier than thou about my intention to not ever cheat. Everyone is only human, we all make mistakes but due to the way infidelity has touched me throughout my life, I have a stronger commitment to myself NOT to ever go down that path. With that said one of my favorite sayings is “never say never or always”. Thanks for sharing with me!!

      Like

  17. Phosphenes says:

    twocheatinghearts

    You said, ” there is only one way to salvation. And that is through Jesus Christ. He paid the ultimate price for ALL of our sins when he died on the cross for us. Quite simply, good deeds will not get you into heaven. Only accepting Jesus Christ as your lord and savior.”

    Yes, this is a fact of YOUR religion. And a teaching of YOUR religion. And im going to respect it.

    I mentioned that I don’t feel like I’m equipped to “debate” religion here. And I don’t feel that there is anyone here to answer my questions satisfactory. At best there may be people here who attend “bible studies” but even that is only for the enlightenment of the individual. They’re not equipping you to debate your religion, they’re equipping you to become staunch in it.

    I can’t comprehend “third party punishment”.
    If Jesus died for ALL of your sins, why are Christian rapists, murderers and all Christian criminals in prison? Shouldn’t they be let loose if they “claim” to have truly repented? Let’s be honest, even in staunch Christian communities, with Christian judges and lawyers, they still get sent to prison. Why are Christians punishing Christians if all of you are unanimous on the fact that Jesus died for you.

    Now these sort of questions one has to ask a priest. And I have realized that so I won’t talk religion anymore. You don’t google one of your ailments and with the millions of search results take it as gospel. You go to a certified doctor.

    Isle, sorry about the discussion. Best to keep adultery blogs on the subject of adultery.

    Like

  18. In a nutshell, we live in a sinful world which goes back to when Adam and Eve disobeyed God. Up until then, your argument would have made sense. The world would have been free from sin, had they not fallen. But we know that isn’t the case now. As far as Christian rapists and murders, I am not here to judge anyone’s heart towards God. That being said, our society has a thing called laws which are set up to protect people’s lives. Those laws were created to the benefit of our society as a whole, to protect people from just being killed in the streets or raped as any man/woman wished. Therefore, punishments came along to ensure people followed said laws, to detract the majority from committing such heinous crimes. Clearly, punishment reduces negative behaviors (ask any parent or teacher and they will break this down for you). Repenting to God for your sins is commanded by God. Punishments I.e. Going to prison is societies way of handling severe punishments. Being a Christian has no bearing on your sentence before a judge. You do the crime, you do the time. Sure, they might be more lenient with you if you had lived an exemplary life up until some heinous act was committed. But then again, they may think you of all people should have known better and throw the book at you. Guess it really depends and would be pure speculation and based on each individuals case, the judge you got etc. too many variables to draw any firm conclusions.

    As far as my religion, I have never recognized any other religion but being a follower of Jesus Christ (not the best one because obviously just like Adam and Eve, I too disobeyed God’s commandments). Any other “religion” is pure heresay. If you believe that the bible is the Word of God, then you will know that salvation is available to all. However, God makes it clear there is only One way, through Jesus Christ (John 14:6). Therefore, any other person/entity/made up “religion” will not bring you to eternal life.

    And yes…I too am not as well versed in the bible as I should be. Nor is this the place to discuss it further. But I know Jesus is the only way. I may have sinned, but those sins have already been paid for. The enemy would love nothing more to convince each and every one of us otherwise (because he gets our souls and not God then). But I know what my inheritance is…and the riches God has in store for all of us who believe in Him.

    Like

  19. Phosphenes says:

    twocheatinghearts

    You opened your mouth but rather you shouldn’t have. You opened your mouth and a whole lot of stupid came falling out.

    You don’t recognize any other religion save Christianity? You dismiss every other religion as heresay? Well, there’s no point in conversing with someone about religion who cannot bring herself to respect a religion besides her own.

    This just confirms by belief. Seldom is it that an adulteres’ only shortcoming is adultery.
    Don’t respond to me again, thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

