God Doesn’t Make Mistakes

How many times have we as Christians heard that saying? For myself, I’m sure I’ve heard it dozens if not hundreds of times. Yet, I still struggle with it.

I was driving in to work today and I was singing along to the Mumford and Sons CD I bought the other day. It’s easy to think you sing well when you have a professionally recorded album as your backing track, but every once in a while I hear myself and I think “Man, my voice sucks” It’s not that I can’t hit the notes (for the most part) it’s that I hate my voice.

Yep, I hate my voice – both speaking and singing. I long ago added that to my very long list of physical, mental, and moral defects. I really hate myself and it’s not some act or some affected thing. I truly believe there is a lot to hate about myself.

I think this is part of why I don’t trust my wife. She tells me she loves my voice and all the other things I absolutely despise about myself. I think “How can she possibly love these things? Surely she must be lying and if she’ll lie about my voice, then what else is she lying about? What else does she also hate about me, or secretly roll her eyes about, that she won’t tell me about?”

But as I’m driving along, that phrase comes to me: God doesn’t make mistakes.

And I know it’s true. I’ve even been known to tell it to other people. God doesn’t make mistakes. So if that’s true, and it is, then I can’t be a mistake. If I hate all these things about myself, if I hate myself, then I’m calling God a liar. I’m telling him “You screwed up with me. When you made me, it was not good.”

It’s a tough pill to swallow. God made me who I am, flaws and all. I am supposed to glorify Him with this life and this body he’s given me. Even if I can’t love all of it, I have to accept it and not hate it.

It’s convicting because I know I have no reason to hate myself this way. If Joni Eareckson Tada and that guy with no arms or legs can glorify God for and well as in their situation, then what the hell is my excuse? Well, I don’t have one, so I’m going to work on not hating myself. Please pray for me, because God doesn’t make mistakes and I need to see that.

About Anonyman

Recovering adulterer and husband of an awesome wife who has given me a second chance. Sinner and Christian, saved by grace alone. I cuss a lot
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God Doesn’t Make Mistakes

  1. Nephila says:

    He may not make mistakes but people make enough of their own and He doesn’t fix them in this life. I’m sure He does in the next though. But if you can compartmentalise enough to cheat then that’s the least of your concerns.

    Like

    • And how exactly is this a response to what he is writing about? He isn’t cheating anymore and he loves his wife. Maybe we should all support him in his efforts to heal his relationship and himself.

      And by the way, it is a sick person who thinks God is out to get you in your next life, especially if you have made mistakes (which everyone does) and have learned from them. I know few people who believe we have a vengeful God. You, of all people, should hope we don’t because the hatred you dispense on a daily basis will not do you well in your next lifetime.

      Like

  2. Pingback: God Doesn't Make Mistakes | Christians Anonymous

  3. This is slightly off topic – but I was reading it this morning and it made me think of you. It is a few verses in Isaiah – after the deliverance and restoration of Isreal. Isreal were now under Gods favor… It’s Isaiah 61. The Lord proclaims He has come to heal the broke hearted, set the captive free, how He will bring beauty from ashes (glorious ruins I have heard them referred to)…. But it’s the first half of verse 7 – ‘Instead of their shame, they shall have double the honor.’ I just believe that this is what God is promising you right now. He has brought you out of the ruins, out of the ashes, he has rebuilt and is continuing to do so and He is promising you that your shame is gone and in it’s place is a double portion of honor. Why? Because the repentant heart is priceless to God, and He is a God that takes pleasure in restoring and raising us beyond our expectations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

