The Ghosts That We Knew – Music

I posted the video below on Wednesday and I’ve been listening to it a lot. I’m okay as long as I don’t really listen to the words, but when I do, well…

You saw my pain, washed out in the rain
Broken glass, saw the blood run from my veins
But you saw no fault no cracks in my heart
And you knelt beside my hope torn apart
But the ghosts that we knew will flicker from you
And we’ll live a long life
So give me hope in the darkness that I will see the light
‘Cause oh that gave me such a fright
But I will hold as long as you like
Just promise me we’ll be alright

So lead me back
Turn south from that place
And close my eyes from my recent disgrace
‘Cause you know my call
We’ll share my all
Now children come and they will hear me roar
So give me hope in the darkness that I will see the light
‘Cause oh that gave me such a fright
But I will hold as long as you like
Just promise me we’ll be alright

But hold me still bury my heart on the cold
And hold me still bury my heart on the cold

So give me hope in the darkness that I will see the light
‘Cause oh that gave me such a fright
But I will hold on as long as you like
Just promise me that we’ll be alright

But the ghosts that we knew made us blackened or blue
But we’ll live a long life

And the ghosts that we knew will flicker from view
And we’ll live a long life

It can be tricky to discern the real meaning behind songs. Oftentimes the best songs transcend any particular circumstance and speak to us with raw emotions that work in whatever circumstances we find ourselves. So it is, I suspect in this song.

The way I interpret it is his wife finds him broken and injured from some attempt on his own life. She looks past his actions (his recent disgrace) that caused his depression and helps him to keep going. He begs her to give him hope that everything will be alright, hope that will help him hold onto life as long as she likes. When she’s with him, he has hope in the darkness and the ghosts of what he’s done will flicker from view.

That’s what that song says to me, and I can’t even read the words without weeping about what I’ve done and how my wife has given me the hope I need to hold on. My wife saved me from the ghosts in the darkness. That may make me weak or sappy, but that’s the truth.

About Anonyman

Recovering adulterer and husband of an awesome wife who has given me a second chance. Sinner and Christian, saved by grace alone. I cuss a lot
This entry was posted in Music, Suicide and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ghosts That We Knew – Music

  1. That is so sad, yet so beautiful. When someone saves you from yourself – how can you not be moved. God bless your amazing wife!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had an affair says:

    Best song ever. The whole album speaks to the soul.

    Like

    • Anonyman says:

      Yeah, I have to agree with you. Like I said, I don’t know what it’s actually about, but it sure is easy to read into it messages of shame and guilt for some sort of indiscretion as well as forgiveness and redemption.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kit says:

    This is an amazing song. Do we betrayed spouses hold that much power?

    Anger has never been the big issue for me. Pain is what has been the worst part of this and when I see the tears in my husband’s eyes I realize that there is pain for him as well. Pain from hurting me when he always believed he would protect me. Pain from his failures. This a good reminder that I can help him in his recovery as I extend to him a safe place from the ghosts in the darkness and believe with him that there is hope that we’ll be alright. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

