Do Brits Blog?

I was just sitting here, reading the very excellent 20Something and Divorced and reflecting on the number of Aussie bloggers I follow or who follow me. Just based on the percentage of English speaking countries, I would expect about 1 for every 10 US blogger, but it’s actually more like 2-3. I’ve seen several Kiwis who blog – so many in fact that I’ve wondered if any of them know each other – there’s only 4 million people in the whole country. Canada seems to be a bit underrepresented – I only know for sure about 2-3 who I’ve interacted with, but I get a few hits every day from the great white north.

The black hole in terms of English speaking countries seems to be the UK. I don’t think I’ve seen any blogs written by Brits and the only commented I can recall who was from the UK was that Muslim commenter I had back in September. A big day for me is 2 hits from all of the UK. This despite the fact that the UK has a population greater than Canada, Australia, and New Zealand combined.

So do Brits just not blog about affairs or am I missing something? I wonder if it’s a WordPress thing, like maybe everyone in UK uses Blogspot or something I haven’t heard of.

It’s all apropos of nothing, but these are the sort of things I wonder about when my mind goes “Squirrel!”

Carry on.

About Anonyman

Recovering adulterer and husband of an awesome wife who has given me a second chance. Sinner and Christian, saved by grace alone. I cuss a lot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Do Brits Blog?

  1. Yes we do! I think it’s a time difference thing. I am awake during the night with my son so I read mainly Aussie blogs! I have encountered quite a few other brits too. Maybe I am one of the two who appear on your stats lol x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Anonyman says:

    Huh, I usually pick up on Commonwealth writers pretty quickly, but I either forgot about your blog or just didn’t notice. I stand corrected 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. To be honest I find it difficult to work out which country other bloggers are from. Nonetheless I enjoy reading them lol

    Like

  4. We do indeed blog, time difference has much to do with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thinkingtheo says:

    Another Brit blogger here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The vast majority of my visitors are from the UK, it seems.At least 60% but usually more like 80%. There are only a handful of hits from the US.

    And a TON from Singapore… no idea why. I rarely get any spam. Only once in the 6-plus months I’ve been blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m a Londoner and have been blogging since June 2014. From my stats I can see that the UK interest in my blog is second to the US but the difference in volume is phenomenal. The UK’s interest is only 16% of the US interest. I don’t think the blogosphere is as busy in the UK.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

